S.O.B. – Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats

Song: S.O.B

Artist: Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats

Album: S.O.B.

Year: 2015

Setting in Which this Review is Based off Of: Driving from Michigan to Chicago

My mom and I were about a hour out of our destination when this song came on and she asked me if I had ever really listened to the lyrics.  We cranked the volume up and filled the car with Nathaniel Rateliff’s musky voice and I listened for the first time.

S.O.B. is the story of an alcoholic.  It follows this poor man’s attempt and fail life at trying to quit drinking.  The tune begins with humming accompanied with a steady clap.  Hearing just this makes me picture the band members on a wooden porch with homemade instruments like spoons on washboards.  Of course it isn’t like this, the 7 member group is actually doing fairly well for being a new band on the block.  They have an upcoming world tour of almost 50 shows that starts and ends in the South, but visits impressive venues in Ireland, France and Germany.  Unfortunately, their Chicago show is sold out and they haven’t booked a show in Michigan so I may be out of luck.

Anyway, the song is about 2 and a half minutes in when I am pulled to my feet by the vibe of the music.  Rateliff slows it down just a bit before bringing in the drums and hard guitar– I love it so much.

When asked about his new material, Rateliff told The Guardian, “I want to do something that’s emotionally charged and heartfelt… I want for people to feel excited and dance around”. And that’s exactly the response he’s getting proved when he received his sanding ovation from the Jimmy Fallon studio audience after performing S.O.B. The group also got loads on praise from Fallon on the show and on social media afterwards.  If I had to guess, I would say this soul single is headed to the big leagues.

S.O.B. Music Video
Nathaniel Rateliff’s Website

Leave a Reply

