Sippy Cup – Melanie Martinez

Song: Sippy Cup

Artist: Melanie Martinez

Album: Cry Baby

Year: 2015

Setting in Which this Review is Based off Of: My bed, procrastinating studying for exams

I’m not sure if I’ve alerted you all to the fact that I am in a sorority.  I live in the sorority house, I am constantly surrounded by my sorority sisters, I really am, dare I say, a sorority girl.  With that being said, It’s hard as hell to keep up with the actual good music scene.  If I go out to the bars, you know all I’m hearing in top 40.  If I tailgate at a campus frat, all the DJ is putting out seems to be Drake and Fetty.  So, that’s my excuse for not having posted in a while, I just haven’t had a chance to connect with a specific song, or much music at all, since I’ve been back.  But that’s about to change because I found one!! So here we go.

My friend sent me this song over the Spotify messaging system last Friday.  I didn’t get the chance to listen to over the weekend but I wish I had.  Have you heard of Melanie Martinez?  According to her Spotify background page, if you were an avid The Voice watcher, you probably have.  For some reason, I never really got into that show, Blake Sheldon just kind of weirds me out?

Anyway, Martinez competed on the third season and was eliminated during week five.  Can I say what a mistake America made on week five?   I just watched her audition performance of Britney Spear’s Toxic and she blew me away.  Well, now Martinez has recognized her own talent and released a sixteen song album, the third track called Sippy Cup.

I freakin’ love it.

Her somewhat sad persona in the song is kept up by a lifted beat and I am reminded greatly of another one of my favorite artists, Halsey.  If you give the song a listen, and know Halsey’s style, I’m sure you’ll agree.

Sippy Cup is a follow up to Martinez’s previous release, Dollhouse. Dollhouse is a story of a doll family that is perfectly plastic to their owner, but when their owner walks away, the family comes alive with problems of drinking, drugs, and infidelity.  Sippy Cup continues the story of the same doll family but the infidelity problem is solved by the alcoholic mother.  I don’t really want to suggest going to watch the music videos because they are beyond creepy, but if you’re into that stuff, watch Dollhouse first and immediately follow with Sippy Cup.  However disturbing they are, they did do an amazing job with the storytelling.

The underlying meaning of the song is that no matter how much you try to brush things under the carpet, or hide them, you can’t change the bad to good without actually putting effort into it.

“Blood still stains when the sheets are washed”

You know exactly what it means.  Martinez has a great voice for this sort of spooky, evil with a smile, type of song.  I’ll definitely be looking out for her next single to drop.
‘Dollhouse’ Music Video (Prequel to Sippy Cup)
‘Sippy Cup’ Music Video
Melanie Martinez Website

Leave a Reply

